Reasons why I’ll never, ever be a books or beauty blogger…

Over the years I’ve owned several blogs, blogs that are born with a spark but die faster than the amount it takes the spark to be at it brightest, and while I am motivated about it for a couple months, I always end up not committing enough. Well, I assume that there are many people out there that has had the same feeling at one point or another.

But I want to point the main reasons which in my case, are the ones that keep me from ever becoming a successful blogger:

  • Reason 1: Lack of money.

Seriously. I’ve never had a great salary, and on top of that, I’m not great at keeping a budget. There’s honestly no way I’m gonna be able to keep buying beauty/makeup, fashion clothing and shoes every week. I know that there are many discount and thrift stores, and budget-friendly makeup alternatives such as drugstore makeup… but let’s be honest, everyone has different priorities. When it comes to makeup, I’m a minimalist, not a hoarder; and the same thing I can say about shoes. It’s like, you like something because it looks cute, and you want it, but you have other priorities (food, pay the bills, not getting into debt), and at the end, you just pass.

And now that I quit my full time job for school, I’m honestly flat out broke. Bye bye blogging dreams.

But, if there’s something that I’m truly willing to spend money on, is BOOKS. First of all, books are way cheaper than clothes and makeup; some would argue and say this is not true, but let’s compare: one paperback/ebook costs average $10-$20, while one piece of clothing costs at minimum $10, but not even FXXI costs that cheap -unless it’s on clearance, and I rarely find my size or even pretty things on that aisle-, shoes are more expensive, bags: even worse. And, since I’m on the cheap side lately, the only thing I allow myself to splurge on these days, are ebooks, because hardcovers are outrageously overpriced, and the kindle store is still cheaper than buying paperbacks (yes, my economy is this bad). And I buy zero clothes, zero makeup, almost zero beauty products (except necessities such as facewash and makeup remover) because otherwise, I would become homeless after one trip to H&M and Sephora. I’m serious.

giphy

  • Reason 2: Lack of space.

I live in a one-bedroom apartment: we’re two people and one cat. There’s just no space for anything. We’re soon moving this summer to a two-bedroom small apartment, because we need a computer room, which we will also use for storage. I do have a couple bookcases, and I already own like 100 books, which is way a lot already… but damn, if you want me to be honest: the idea of having large bookcases full of pretty, colorful books is AMAZING… but it’s just so damn INCONVENIENT when you have to be moving all the time. I tend to move every 2-3 years, due to many reasons, and every time I tend to become more and more of a minimalist mindset. My apartment is still full of crap, but it’s mostly my boyfriend’s stuff, because he’s a hoarder. Everything I own, is old clothes, some 20 pairs of old shoes, CDs, some videogames, my books, and teddy bears (yes I know, somehow I’ve collected those), and it still seems like I own too much stuff, and it’s starting to feel suffocating.

So, having a room with a couple giant bookshelves full of beautiful books, another room full of clothes, shoes and accessories? Maybe one day, when I finally get to own a house and have a good job.

  • Reason 3: Lack of time.

I admire those people that are amazing at keeping and managing their own agendas. You know, those people with kids and family obligations, who somehow manage to run a blog and a job, and perhaps even school at the same time… I totally admire them.

I’ve always been awful at managing my time. It wasn’t until I started school, about 5 months ago, that I realized that the only way to survive university, was to force myself to have discipline. Back then when I started, I was both studying full-time and working part-time, and I failed miserably, because of the sudden change and the impact that school (along with a stressful job) made in my life. I had to quit my job, but it still proved hard for me to adapt, and it was mostly because I lacked discipline.

Still, at this point, even if I do manage to have a strict agenda and stick to the discipline required to be successful in school, I can still say that I do not have the necessary amount of time required to maintain a blog, at least not in the way I would like to. Because it is simply not my priority at this moment.

And honestly, I am not really sure that being a book or beauty blogger is what I want to be doing full time… sure, it looks amazing, and the most successful bloggers look tremendously happy about all the perks and good things that come along with it. But what people don’t notice, is that that kind of lifestyle, has an incredible amount of stress and responsibilities, and I’ve read a lot about blogger’s experiences and insights for years. (It becomes your full-time job, mostly underpaid and you can’t seem to make ends. Just read this article written by one of the youtubers behind Just Between Us, it’s an eye opener). I believe that reading about the sad truth behind blogging is what has put me off this kind of lifestyle.

I love books, I love the thrill of finding new, exciting books to read, and I love to talk about them… but I’m just an awfully slow reader, and by no means I’m an expert or have any idea about how to review them, I can just guide myself about the things I feel when I do. But I know that I do not want to avoid sleep, or gaming, or watching Netflix, just for the sake of reading non-stop and writing a thousand reviews (some of my favorite book-bloggers read about 15 books a week, how the hell do they even do it? Is that even a life?). So starry dreams aside, I’ll just read as much as I am able to, without rush or pressure; and I won’t add more stress to my already stressed life. It is just not for me.

pexels-photo-177535

As tempting as it sounds, I don’t have what it takes to be doing this all the time… sigh.

Which brings me to my last point:  Reason 4: I’m just not passionate enough (at least not about the books or beauty niche). I believe this is the most important reason of all, because it doesn’t matter if you have time, spare money, a nice laptop, a nice camera. If you don’t have passion about it and are not willing to sacrifice many things for the sake of your intended niche… there’s just no point. In my case, like I already mentioned, I am not willing to dedicate a lot of my time and effort to make reviews of products. If I ever want to do it, it will be something I totally believe in, like the holy grail. You know, that book that leaves me mesmerized (which happens every once in a while), or that face cream I’ve been using for years because it has become my skin’s best friend…

So that’s what I believe it’s the difference between blogging as a hobby, and blogging for something else… and then when you reach a point in which your blog or youtube channel stops being a hobby and becomes your full-time job, it’s up to you if you want to give the step and become something more… However, I do find that there are many bloggers who claim that blogging is their hobby, but will also admit that it comes with a lot of stress, and are afraid of losing readers if they do not write constantly. I wonder then, are they truly sure that’s what they want to be doing?

Just do what you feel like doing, whenever you feel like it.

Yas.~

2 thoughts on “Reasons why I’ll never, ever be a books or beauty blogger…

Leave a Reply

